21.9 C
New York
Sunday, October 1, 2023

Coupe du Trône: Dayo penalty gives RS Berkane third Throne Cup in five seasons

For the third time in the last five seasons, Renaissance Sportive de Berkane are the champions of Morocco’s Coupe du Trône following a 1-0 victory over Raja Club Athletic in the final played in Rabat late Saturday evening. A penalty kick scored by RSB defender Issoufou Dayo was the difference against Raja who were reduced to ten players before the half hour mark. Berkane will represent Morocco in the 2023-24 CAF Confederation Cup with the victory.

Raja looked a bit more dangerous in the early stages but the match featured few opportunities after Raja defender Marouane Hadhoudi was dismissed with a red card for a high challenge on forward Youssef El Fahli. Despite the disadvantage, Raja looked more capable of scoring at times against a cautious Berkane team and it was a stalemate after the opening ninety minutes.

The Video Assistant Referee (VAR) intervened to send off Hadhoudi and had a crucial role in the goal scored at the end of the first half of extra time. Raja left back Mahmoud Bentayg touched a cross from El Fahli with his hand and Burkina Faso national team defender Dayo calmly rolled his spot kick past Anas Zniti in the Raja goal. RSB held on through the second half of extra time with few issues to confirm qualification for CAF club football next season.

Highlights from the final are below.

Issoufou Dayo scores a penalty kick to win it for RS Berkane

Match Highlights