-0.4 C
New York
Thursday, December 7, 2023

NPFL: Sunshine Stars qualify for “Super 6”; Abia Warriors and Akwa United miss out despite victories on final day

The abridged regular season of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) is complete following the eighteenth matchday over the weekend and six teams secured passage to the six-team playoff stage known as the “Super 6” while four teams were confirmed to be relegated. A scoreless draw for Enyimba against Shooting Stars was enough for the People’s Elephant to hold off Akwa United and qualify as the third-placed team in Group A on the goal differential tiebreaker. Akwa United won 1-0 at Gombe United but it was not enough to overtake Enyimba and Remo Stars who join first placed Bendel Insurance in advancing.

In Group B, two consecutive defeats left Doma United supporters disappointed as the club were overtaken by Sunshine Stars who won 3-0 over Dakkada FC. The “Akure Gunners” joined group leaders Rivers United and Lobi Stars in the “Super 6”, qualifying by a point over Doma United and edging Abia Warriors on goal differential despite a 2-0 victory for Warriors over Doma.

The relegated clubs were already determined before the final matchday with Nasarawa United and El Kanemi Warriors the teams from Group A who will play in the second tier Nigeria National League (NNL) while Wikki Tourists and Dakkada will join them out of Group B.

Highlights from three matches are below following the scores and lists of relegated clubs and teams in the “Super 6”. The playoff stage will kick off on June 3 with all matches taking place in Lagos, where each team will play five matches over eight days in a round robin format.


Group A

Shooting Stars 0-0 Enyimba

Gombe United 0-1 Akwa United

Remo Stars 4-0 Kwara United

Nasarawa United 1-1 Bendel Insurance

El Kanemi Warriors 2-2 Plateau United

Group B

Bayelsa United 2-0 Niger Tornadoes

Sunshine Stars 3-0 Dakkada FC

Enugu Rangers 1-1 Rivers United

Abia Warriors 2-0 Doma United

Lobi Stars 0-2 Wikki Tourists

Qualified Teams for “Super 6”

Relegated Teams


Nasarawa United 1-1 Bendel Insurance