Thursday, July 25, 2024

Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

Tapsoba, Dayo and Ouattara called in to Burkina Faso squad for final AFCON qualifier against Eswatini

Burkina Faso national team head coach Hubert Velud announced his squad ahead of The Stallions’ final 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against Eswatini on September 8. Twenty-five players were called in with a few top players receiving invitations while one notable player will be absen. Qualification for the final tournament in Ivory Coast is confirmed for Burkina Faso who are joined from Group B by Cape Verde.

The notable absence in Velud’s team is Aston Villa attacker Bertrand Traoré. The captain was excused from national team duty to focus on recovery from an injury that continues to prevent him from appearing with the English Premier League club. Bournemouth forward Dango Ouattara is the star of the Burkinabé attack with Russian-based striker Mohamed Konaté returning to the squad. Abdoul Tapsoba, Cyrille Bayala, Mamady Bangré and Stephane Aziz Ki of Young Africans are candidates to join Ouattara in the attack against Eswatini.

There is plenty of experience in the spine of the Burkinabé team. Edmond Tapsoba, Steeve Yago and Issoufou Dayo are the veteran leaders of the defense and Pyramids FC midfielder Ibrahim Blati Touré will be the anchor deep in the midfield. Right back Issa Kaboré returns to the team after missing the previous match, a defeat at Cape Verde. Right to Dream graduate Adamo Nagalo and Nasser Djiga are younger defenders who may receive an opportunity with little at stake in the final qualifying match.

The full list of players called by Velud are below.


Hervé Koffi (Charleroi, Belgium)

Kilian Nikiema (Den Haag, The Netherlands)

Sébastien Tou (CE Sabadell, Spain)


Issoufou Dayo (RS Berkane, Morocco)

Nasser Djiga (FC Basel, Switzerland)

Abdoul Razack Guiebre (Modena, Italy)

Issa Kaboré (Luton Town, England)

Adamo Nagalo (FC Nordsjælland, Denmark)

Valentin Nouma (FC Saint-Éloi Lupopo, DR Congo)

Edmond Tapsoba (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)

Steeve Yago (Aris Limassol, Cyprus)


Stephane Aziz Ki (Young Africans, Tanzania)

Sacha Banse (Standard Liége, Belgium)

Adama Guira (Qingdao Hainiu, China)

Ismahila Ouédraogo (Panserraikos, Greece)

Dramane Salou (Urartu, Armenia)

Gustavo Sangaré (Quevilly, France)

Ibrahim Blati Touré (Pyramids FC, Egypt)


Cédric Badolo (Sheriff Tiraspol, Moldova)

Mamady Bangré (Toulouse, France)

Cyrille Bayala (Ajaccio, France)

Mohamed Konaté (Akhmat Grozny, Russia)

Dango Ouattara (Bournemouth, England)

Djibril Ouattara (RS Berkane, Morocco)

Abdoul Tapsoba (Amiens, France)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular Articles