Monday, April 22, 2024

Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

Nigeria release squad list for June AFCON qualifier against Sierra Leone

Nigeria men’s national team coach José Peseiro announced his list of players on Friday for the Super Eagles’ penultimate 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against Sierra Leone set to take place on June 18. The current leaders of Group A on nine points, a draw for Nigeria will book their ticket to the finals in Ivory Coast early next year. Sierra Leone will host the Super Eagles at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Sports Complex in the Liberian capital of Monrovia due to not having a home stadium that meets the standards of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Record setting striker Victor Osimhen will lead the Super Eagles attack after an incredible campaign for Italian club Napoli where he was top scorer in Serie A. Villarreal winger Samuel Chukwueze is another in form player who joins after winning the award for Best African Player in Spain’s La Liga. Ademola Lookman of Italy’s Atalanta and French-based winger Moses Simon will also be involved as well as striker Kelechi Iheanacho despite suffering relegation from the English Premier League with Leicester City.

There will be a new goalkeeper between the sticks for Nigeria after Francis Uzoho was not called in, leaving either Hapoel Jerusalem keeper Adebayo Adelele or domestic based options Victor Sochima (Rivers United) or Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba) as candidates to be in the starting eleven. Ajax defender Calvin Bassey headlines a group of defenders that also includes team leader and central defender William Troost-Ekong as well as talented fullbacks Bright Osayi-Samuel and Zaidu Sanusi.

Another star from the Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL), Chidiebube Duru, arrives from CAF Confederation Cup quarterfinalists Rivers United to further boost the fullback corps. Alex Iwobi and Wilfred Ndidi arrive from the English Premier League to be the main leaders of Nigerian midfield. Frank Onyeka of Brentford and Joe Aribo are also talented options for Peseiro while the final midfield slot is filled by Divine Nwachukwu of NPFL club Bendel Insurance.

There are several surprise omissions. OGC Nice striker Terem Moffi is not included after starting Nigeria’s previous match, a 1-0 victory over Guinea-Bissau in Bissau. Another striker, Paul Onuachu, was not called in after suffering a drop of form following his move to the English Premier League with relegated club Southampton FC.

See the full list of players below.


Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Victor Sochima (Rivers United)

Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)


William Troost-Ekong (Watford FC, England)

Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands)

Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United)

Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain)

Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)


Joe Aribo (Southampton FC, England)

Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England)

Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance)

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England)

Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)


Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France)

Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy)

Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy)

Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England)

Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor, Turkey)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular Articles